//
you're reading...
Academe

Almost Always Down

What’s happening to UPCC? Services (eg CRS, UVLE) are always down. We also lost our classes in UVLE.

This is what was posted at dg.up.edu.ph. Now, the poster of this message was right:

First, the services are always down. I remember that the services were down for a long time last week until early this week. This is the reason why I wasn’t able to download the course notes for my subjects that uses the UVLE.

Second, yes, there had been a problem with UVLE. I seem to also have lost all my UVLE classes. But the problem didn’t stop there. I was able to access other classes and subjects.

Here is a screen shot of one of the classes that, I’m quite sure, I’m not supposed to see but was able to access otherwise (Through legal means. By that I mean, by only clicking the defined links.):

uvle.jpg

Now, this is really weird. I think they should really look into this one. There are things there that no one except the members of the class should be entitled to see. (i.e. class standings, submissions, etc.) Whatever happened to infomation security?

Finally, her post topic, “UPCC services very unreliable”. I think this is because its almost always down whenever you really need it. I remember last moday, one of my Profs asked our class if we think we should switch to yahoogroups instead because the UVLE is usually down. Good thing my Physics Prof makes sure we do get the course notes by personally sending us the notes via e-mail. 🙂

About princess of antiquity

Abbi Cabanding is a member of the Security Bloggers Network and had been blogging on information security since 2006. She is also a member of the Association for Computing Machinery. She studied Computer Science and Fine Arts at the University of the Philippines - Diliman.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Almost Always Down

  1. bka april 1 na ngaun? Q–(^^,Q)

    Posted by moshmosh | December 1, 6:06 pm, 6:06 pm
  2. Sana nga po. Q(^^,Q)

    Posted by abbi | December 1, 7:54 pm, 7:54 pm
  3. First – the UVLE is bound to be replaced with a new version. The admin (policy) side is being worked on as I type. I am hoping that everything will be in place by June.

    Second, I don’t use UVLE because I know its flaws (ask Tiny Cactus). I prefer using Google groups and Yahoo groups.

    As for CRS, no comment!

    Posted by rom | December 11, 7:32 am, 7:32 am

Leave a Reply

Sin of Silence E-Book


SIN OF SILENCE:
THE STORIES OF OUR DAYS
download:
single-page view
two-page view

On Wordpress

  • 94,807 readers

Subscribe via FeedBurner

Enter your email address to receive notifications by email.

RSS Princess of Antiquity on Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License
Original content in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
