//
you're reading...
Academe, Personal, Rants

Grading System for Dorm Residents(?)

/*Please forgive me for ranting here.*/
/*Please forgive the comments*/

Shirumi said:

“Kaya nga kami nandito sa ilang kasi sabi ng R.A. namin nun sa Kalai mas makakapag-concentrate ka daw dito sa pag-aaral mo. Kaya kami nag-Ilang kasi gusto naming mag-concentrate sa acads namin. (Translation: We are here because when we were at Kalai (Kalayaan Residence Hall) our R.A. told us that here we can concentrate more on our studies. Choose Ilang (Ilang-Ilang Residence Hall) because we want to concentrate more on our academics.)

We had our General Assembly earlier this evening. We were informed that the point cards will now be collected and that our assessment will depend on the points we got. This is totally unfair because:

1. The points only shows the attendance to the activities. It does not entirely, if at all, reflect the performance of the residents.

2. They are considering the length of stay of the residents, but not their academic loads, during the assessment of the resident’s performance. Has it ever occured to them that those who are at the other side of the Academic Oval have only like 15 or so units thus having more time than those from our side of the academic oval who have 19 or so units and still have hidden units due to labs? Those who have 15 or so units will have more time to attent their concerts and what not than those who actually have to do MPs, pre/post labs, and what have you. I can do a paper in an hour but you cannot do that with MPs. They require time. And also, I’m currently a second year student but I’m taking junior classes. Naturally, I have to put extra efforts in those courses. And they’re saying that they’re not even going to consider this? That is so unfair!

3. They are implying that the residents should prioritize the dormitory instead of thier academics. We are, first and foremost, university students and we are here to study. Prioritizing the dorm activities is just down right pathetic. Will it matter if you have a dorm room when you failed all your courses during the semester and the university refuses to admit you anymore? One of my room mates said,

“Ganyan talaga, kanya-kanyang priorities lang yan. Kami nga eh, mas pinili namin yung dorm kaya feeling namin babagsak kami ng ES12. Kasi kung ayaw mong mapalayas ng Ilang, pwede talagang ma-sacrifice mo yung acads mo.”(Translation: Well, it’s really like that, it’s just a matter of priorities. We prioritized the dormitory so we feel like we’re going to fail ES12. If you want to stay in Ilang, you may have to sacrifice your academics.)

Is it our fault that there are those of us unlucky(?) enough to land ourselves with demanding professors? Is it our fault that there are some of us who have to excert extra effort to meet course requirements? Is it our fault that there are some of us, like me, who is not a genius and actually have to study for exams? Is it our fault if some of us have professors who gives tonns of projects every other week? My God, this is so unfair.

I didn’t make the 45 points cut off. God knows, and my roommates do, that I would actually have loved to party with them or what not. But, sadly, I don’t have that luxury. I have to excert extra efforts to make the deadlines. Right now, I’m getting only about 2 hours of sleep everyday. I miss my home. I haven’t gone home since Christmas break. And our home is just 3-4 or so hours drive away from here. And I’ve been sick this semester more times than I’ve probably been for my entire life.

I hate this semester. Everything is a mess. I feel like everything is pilling up. All fears, homesickness, all self-doubts, all frustrations. 24 hours just isn’t enough. I wish I have more time on my hands but I don’t. This is the first time I’ve cried in ages. Will I make it? I feel like I’m hangging on a balance right now. I don’t even know if I will still have a dorm room next semester. I don’t know any more, I can’t think anymore. I don’t want to know, I don’t want to think. I just want to rest. I just want to sleep. Please wake me up when this nightmare ends.

/*Thank you for talking your time to read this. I really appreciate it. Thanks for the listening ear. (huh?)*/

About princess of antiquity

Abbi Cabanding is a member of the Security Bloggers Network and had been blogging on information security since 2006. She is also a member of the Association for Computing Machinery. She studied Computer Science and Fine Arts at the University of the Philippines - Diliman.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Grading System for Dorm Residents(?)

  1. tama na yan inuman na! 😀

    Posted by nightfox | March 1, 11:24 pm, 11:24 pm
  2. hmm… i agree w/ the 1st comment… nyahahaha…
    omg… may 176 mp pa… exam pa pala…
    ok… seryoso na… problem ko rin yan e… sa narra…
    stupid attendance card!!! di nga ako nagpasa nun e…
    super busy sa lahat ng bagay… open house nga namin, wala ako sa dorm…
    kumusta naman… i’m a semi-graduating (kasi may 6 units pa akong tira) student…
    sobrang busy ko na… kahit nga gawin mong 48 hours ang 1 araw, kulang pa rin…
    ok, so to wrap things up… di ko pa rin napapasa yung idiotic attendance card…
    i never attended any dorm event… yung 1st GA lang naatendan ko this sem…
    i pay all the dorm bills… i follow the “rules”…
    now, tatanggapin pa kaya nila ako next sem… 1 sem na lang naman ako e…
    haay… i never thought dorm life would reach its annoying limits…
    we just share the same sentiments…

    Posted by angelslayer | March 4, 10:48 pm, 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Sin of Silence E-Book


SIN OF SILENCE:
THE STORIES OF OUR DAYS
download:
single-page view
two-page view

On Wordpress

  • 94,804 readers

Subscribe via FeedBurner

Enter your email address to receive notifications by email.

RSS Princess of Antiquity on Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License
Original content in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
