//
you're reading...
Academe, Personal, Security

On Video Encryption

One of this year’s thesis topics is on streamming video encryption. This is very interesting indeed since it will address society’s continuous demand for better security. However, encrypting streamming videos might compromise its speed. Even with high compression, a stronger encryption might still compromise speed. But there really is a lot of potential regarding this study. I guess I’ll do a little bit of research of my own on this subject.

I’m also wondering if it is feasible to integrate quantum cryptography to streamming video encryption since one time keys seem to be a very promising encryption method. But I have severa questions, though. Is quantum encryption compatible with the IP traffic? Is it fast enough to cater to commercial needs? How secure will the encryption be if we will use quantum cryptography? Is it feasible to encrypt each video frame with a separate key and still not compromise speed?

I guess I’ll be doing a little research on this subject. That is, after I finish our machine exercises on Scheme LISP, our report on Smalltalk and my review of the novel Night for my english class.

/*And FYI, I got a “Very Satisfactory” (2.33333) performance rating on our dormitory evaluation. I might actually be re-admitted next semester. Thanks to Micah and the Socials Committee who gave me a performance rating of 1.0. I got a rating of 3.0 each from the house council (points card) and from my corridor.*/

About princess of antiquity

Abbi Cabanding is a member of the Security Bloggers Network and had been blogging on information security since 2006. She is also a member of the Association for Computing Machinery. She studied Computer Science and Fine Arts at the University of the Philippines - Diliman.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “On Video Encryption

  1. hehe… thesis namin un a… ๐Ÿ˜€
    ~goodluck! sana nga may magtuloy ng samin…

    Posted by angelslayer | March 9, 9:52 pm, 9:52 pm
  2. yeah. thesis nyo yun ๐Ÿ˜›
    Astig nga eh. Good luck sa defense nyo this week ๐Ÿ˜€

    Posted by princess of antiquity | March 12, 3:28 pm, 3:28 pm
  3. hehehe… thanks… sa wed na un e… ๐Ÿ˜€

    Posted by angelslayer yuuzai | March 12, 8:00 pm, 8:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Sin of Silence E-Book


SIN OF SILENCE:
THE STORIES OF OUR DAYS
download:
single-page view
two-page view

On Wordpress

  • 94,967 readers

Subscribe via FeedBurner

Enter your email address to receive notifications by email.

Princess of Antiquity on Twitter

  • RT @AltTeamAFP: The quickest way to acquire self-confidence is to do exactly what you are afraid to do. Sleep well Philippines, we got yourโ€ฆ 3 months ago
  • I have a limit and when you reach it I dismiss you from my life. It's that simple. 3 months ago
  • I don't get mad. I get distant. 3 months ago

RSS Princess of Antiquity on Tumblr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Creative Commons

Creative Commons License
Original content in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
